Shades Of Words

Turning a cable spool into a bedside/coffee table

11 Comments

Cable Spool table

Cable Spool table

I am always on a lookout for reusable stuff that can become into something really cool through a simple DIY project. When I spotted this spool table at the office basement cum junkyard I knew it had more potential.

I went to the hardware store got myself sandpaper, primer, turpentine,putty, paint of my choice (brick red in this case) and some brushes.

I started off on a sunny weekend morning with scrubbing of the dirt and un-evenness with sandpaper. Its hard work and after 2 hours of it my table looked much cleaner. To give it a smooth finish I applied a layer of primer on it and left it to dry for 6-8 hours. Once the primer is applied the uneven parts of the spool are visible clearly. Now the next stage is to apply putty on those gaps so that the wood is all leveled. Applying putty can be a messy and tricky job – one should attempt it to butter it across the surface. Putty will take another 6-8 hours to dry. The table will then be ready for another coat of primer.

Once you have applied the primer and it has dried – apply two coats of paint. My husband was not too happy with my choice of red but it turned out to be alright. Look at my brand new table.

The New Table

The New Table

 

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

11 thoughts on “Turning a cable spool into a bedside/coffee table

  1. I absolutely loved this DIY project of yours. This was the red I was telling you about. Look at it in the long run…it just goes with any shade of paint you’ll choose for your rooms. 🙂

    Btw I have this short square stool that is right now a ghastly shade of yellow…I might change it to blue or cream to match my new decor.

  2. Your table looks wonderful, you must be SO pleased with it! Just brilliant to rescue something that might have been tossed out! I think the read is lovely too!!!

    • Patty – Thank you for your comments. I am glad the table turned out like this. I am just itching to get started on something new once I am back.

  3. Pretty cool! Reminds me of the time I used mom’s thread spool to make a stool for my doll!

  4. hey, it has turned out too good. Does it make your room as bright and colourful as it makes the picture? good job! keep it up. original ideas are always interesting.

    • Purvi- I guess ideas run in the family!!
      Mom – thanks for stopping by. It looks as nice but I was doing some marketing with the pic too

  5. I hadnt seen this post all these days…. thats why the delayed comment..
    But i thought it looked great… the color just makes it more noticeable and i think it was a pretty decent choice..

  6. HI Priyanka – I just saw this comment today – thanks for stopping by and noticing

  7. This looks soo cool.

Leave a Reply

