Shades Of Words

The Brattle Book Shop, Boston

8 Comments

IMG_0295Going to a famous bookstore or a book-shopping area is a must-do no matter where I go. Infact I dont remember a single visit in recent times where I have not actively researched on that information before the visit. So obviously travelling to Boston would not be any different. Of whatever I read I found that The Brattle Book Shop is the place to go. The Brattl Book Store is located at 9 West Street, Boston MA 02111. Established in 1825 , it is one of the oldest Antiquarian and used book store in US. Now I know squat about old and rare books but I thought this would be an ideal place to pay homage to for a bibliophile like me. Located in Backbay area of Boston, its approximately a 15 minute walk from the Station. The coolest thing that about the shop is the ‘Outside Sale lot’ which has hundreds of books ranging for $1 to $15. Its pretty awesome. You have a wide variety to browse through in all price areas. If I did not have luggage constraints I would have probably got a whole lot of books. The Shop itself is a three story building jam packed with books. The first two floors have a general fiction/non-fiction books and from what I saw I believe that even the new books are marked down from printed prices. The third floor is where all the old and rare books are. Though definitely outside my budget , it was still a nice experience to pick up and read books that were easily a few hundred years old.I would recommend a visit to this shop to anyone who is in Boston and loves reading.

What I bought..except for the rocking horses

IMG_0334

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

8 thoughts on “The Brattle Book Shop, Boston

  1. Is this the one you were telling us about prior to your trip?? 🙂 The store looks so cool…and I would love to get my hands on rare books…sigh!

    I can’t quite make out the titles you are showing here though. Anyway you can put up a bigger picture perhaps?

  2. Yes…it is the same store. Infact this was the only store that I planned to visit. Sorry abt the pic…

  3. Just another thought….this review doesn’t have your usual touch to it 🙂 I mean when you write a review you put your heart into it..this looks more like a commercial review. 😀

  4. I completely disagree..it was informational yes but not commercial…and it was short coz of lack ot time to do anythng with my life

  5. You must have added to your pile since you took this photo! 🙂 I love old bookstores. It’s been a long time since I’ve been to one that has multiple floors. Enjoy the rest of your travels and I hope you share more photos!

    • Danielle – Yes I am going to put up more write-ups on Boston with lot more photos. I also need to catch up on ur blog!

  6. I will make note of the book shop Vipula, how after reading your great post could I miss it when I get to finally visit Boston some day :), thank you for sharing. I bet your carry on luggage was heavy LOL!
    I Love traveling, but do notice when I get back home it takes me a while to readjust and get back in the swing of things!

    • Patty – you must visit boston , it would be a lovely weekend especially now when its summerish. I guess when it gets cold here its not that much fun. I am still in Boston for a few more weeks and then flying back to India. And I have done so much shopping that am really worried about my luggage 😦

Leave a Reply

