Shades Of Words

Ireland and India – Lost in translation Project

2 Comments

Thought I have not made much of progress for my Lost in Translation project I am going to go ahead and check off Ireland and India off my list. And here’s how

I have read several Irish writers but  would put up Frank McCourt’s book on the top of my list. Read Angela’s Ashes to get an understanding on certain ethos of Irish culture , but beware, several critics have aimed at this being biased.

There are so many great Indian writers that I could have read and talked about, and I am ashamed to admit, that I am not even familiar with some of the bodies of literature written by Tagore, Mulk Raj Anand, Vikram Seth, Amitav Ghosh ( please forgive me taking their names in the same breath). I would want to recommend a book written by an Indian writer here, that I recently read and enjoyed . This would be the Palce of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee. Thought not in the same league as the aforementioned writers, she writes well with a certain ‘Indian’ flair.

So thats 5/257 countries of the world – hmm- not very encouraging!

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

2 thoughts on “Ireland and India – Lost in translation Project

  1. Angela’s Ashes was a wonderful read, one could almost smell the peat fires and the lack of them!

    I’ve jotted down Palace of Illusions, I really do want to read more in the new year! You inspire me!

    2010, doesn’t that sound futuristic … and it’s almost here!
    oxo

  2. I did like Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and I went on to read Teacher Man and Tis – but after some part I started losing interest and found some of his story telling increasingly repititive.
    If I had to recommend any more of his work it would be Teacher Man

Leave a Reply

