Shades Of Words

My Dreams out in the Street

5 Comments

 I have been staring at the screen for the last fifteen minutes trying to find words to describe my reaction to ‘My Dreams Out In the Street’. Well, that for sure indicates that it was a good book. But did I like it? I think I am going to sit on the fence for this one.

First the plot. Rita Jackson is a 23 year old addict. She is addicted to drugs, alcohol and smoking. She is homeless. She is married but does not know where her husband is. She freelances as a prostitute when she is pennliess. And she has seen a man disposing of a dead body – someone he might have killed. And he knows that she has seen him.

 100 pages and I already gasping for air with the hopelessness of it all.”My Dreams out..” literally pulls you by your collar , from you bed into Rita’s messy world. There were moments when I had to put the book away, walk around the house to steady myself as waves of nausea hit me. My biggest challenge was my difficulty to relate to this protagonist. Even when I tried to push my boundaries and try to imagine this world and this character, something would happen that would seem so unreal and shake me. For instance, Rita having vodka for breakfast, daily. Then for lunch and then for dinner. Rita losing all her belongings once, twice and then again.

This books its not just about Rita. Its also about Gary Shepherd , a private investigater , who works in the hell holes of San Francisco trying to find justice for people just like Rita. As he walks in to a chapter, you breathe a sigh of relief. He is instantly drawn to her and provides some emotional and financial support to this deeply disturbed yet earnest woman. Once he discovers that Rita has witnessed the very murder he is investigating , he promises to protect her. Even if it means sleeping with her and cheating on his wife. A 21st century fairy god mother!!

But there is redemption for him and for her. Nothing dramatic. Maybe because this isn’t a fairytale as much as its about real people.

The writing is choppy , very new age. Sentences in your face. There is no escape in decorative literary mouldings. As I read I felt I was walking in those god forsaken alleys of San Francisco , whether I liked it or not.

 

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

5 thoughts on “My Dreams out in the Street

  1. Nicely written review. Sadly though it’s about a book you did not like much.

  2. **There were moments when I had to put the book away, walk around the house to steady myself as waves of nausea hit me. **

    have you read “Lolita”? I felt the same about that book. never did complete it….

    btw nice review, echo Kapil’s thoughts on this

  3. Kapil, Seeta – Thanks for stopping by . Sometimes I believe we just need to read these books to step out of our comfort zone ..

  4. Well you certainly gave me a book that made me step out of my comfort zone and I’ll never forget that – Sybil 🙂 It made me experience the same state that you just indicated here.

    Hmmm…reading this book reminds me of a long gone book that I read about a similar character who drives herself to a state of drugs, alcohol and prostitution. Its really scarry!

  5. Zoya – No I randomly dont pick up books with these themes. I have new reading strategy..I am picking books in the library in an alphabetical manner ..thats how I picked this one up.

Leave a Reply

