Shades Of Words

The Lost Symbol

6 Comments

I had recently returned from a visit to Washington, and one of my friends suggested that I might like the new Dan Brown – The Lost Symbol. It was to Washington DC what Da Vinci Code was to Paris. My friend did warn me that though interesting it was not going to anything like the Da Vinci Code…and she was so right.

Now, I am always a sucker for thrillers that are geographically centered as it satisfies both my love of mysteries and travelling. So I decided to give it a shot.

The Lost Symbol has the usual Dan Brown trademarks – Robert Langdon and random female companion, heavy use of symbolism, megalomaniacal villain, free mason philosophy and  yes some deeply disturbing information that has to be deciphered, protected and understood as it can transfer human intelligence as we know it.

All the above has been tried not in one but 4 books earlier and now really has no charm left. And to add to this , this book has none of the pace of Brown’s earlier works. It’s excruciatingly long, over-informative and just clunky. Chapters break very frequently and that gets so annoying that at a point you don’t care about cliffhangers any more.

The great universal secret that everyone is trying to protect  – which involves the top brass of US government – is really stupid.  When I say stupid I don’t refer to the secret – it’s not really a secret- you as a reader, already know it. The big reveal moment is more like – “This is it!! This is what I have wasted a precious hours of my life getting to?!!”

The only thing that I liked about the book was the bits and pieces of history that I picked up about Washington and the people who built it. Everything else was “meh”. And yes, something called “Noetic Science” to look up on Google

I liked exactly one sentence in the book which I will now quote – “If our ancestors could see us today, surely they would think us gods”

Verdict: Only if you have time to spare

 

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

6 thoughts on “The Lost Symbol

  1. thanks for the review. At least I won’t feel guilty for not reading this book.

  2. @ma – yes , though I did not know that you read dan brown

  3. I so totally agree with your review on “The Lost Symbol”. I didn’t even buy this book 🙂 but I did remember reading through this book while visiting these monuments.

  4. @Zoya – I did not understand – did or did you not read the book
    ? Or did you read it in Washington?

  5. I love that there was exactly one sentence you liked! After hating The Da Vinci Code, I vowed never to go back…

  6. Hey Simon, thanks for stopping by! The Lost Symbol was a terrible book and I think I wont be reading Dan Brown anytime soon !!
    Though I did not think Da Vinci Code was half that bad …thought it was a nice thriller. But nothing path breaking though

Leave a Reply

