Shades Of Words

One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four…

8 Comments

This meme has been doing the rounds recently , and I was just reminded of it on Darlene’s blog. I found it really interesting coz it not only gives a snapshot on the variety one is reading but also provides good suggestions on what to read next. So here is my take on this
The book I am currently reading

A Traveller’s History of Turkey by Richard Stoneman

I picked this book as a reference to another book that I was reading ( From the Holy Mountain by William Dalrymple). Slightly text-bookish but detailed and written in layman terms, this book traces the history of Turkey from the neolithic age to the very recent political history. Though detailed, it does tend to break in bits and inspite of giving all the factual information , it does tend to leave me with a desire to read something more cohesive

The last book I finished

Cheerful Weather for the Wedding by Julia Strachey is without doubt an extremely interesting book. The entire novella is based on the events of a single day. There a lot of undercurrents in the book apart from the main apparently mundane plot and I would like to go back and read it again before I do a review

The next book I want to read

The New Turkey by Chris Morris

Do get more context on From the Holy Mountain, I am adding another book that takes a look at the modern religious and political history of Turkey. I figured if I am trying to learn something about Turkey then why not do it thoroughly?

The last book I bought

Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare

In my endeavor to acquaint myself with works of this playwright, I will now attempt to read and truly understand the comedy Twelfth Night. My first foray in Shakespeare was Othello – a truly haunting drama. Twelfth Night is so different in its message and tone and even though I am new to Shakespeare, I am beginning to get those sharp jokes and innuendos that he is so famous for. I also use a lot of Sparknotes 🙂

The last book that I was given

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

My sister ( the only who ever gives books to me !) bought an old copy edition of this book from those incredibly gorgeous bookstores that are found in university towns. I remember reading through this entire novel in a night so long ago – shivering as I read the wonderfully haunting and melancholy prose. It is time to go back and read this

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

8 thoughts on “One Book, Two Book, Three Book, Four…

  1. I like this … Rebecca reminded me… I had an old edition of that book and wasn’t sure if I had given it to u or medha. Do u remember by chance 🙂 also I was looking for the film adaptation of this one but couldn’t find an appealing one on netflix

  2. well I never borrowed Rebecca from you so it could be Medha . You should look at Hitchcock’s version

  3. I am about to complete “the girl with the dragon tattoo” and have already ordered “the Kite runner”. I think the next book I will buy is Rebecca…I liked what you have written for it….

  4. @Shivani – Arrey sahi hai. I had no idea you were still reading. That’s awesome! Kite Runner is one of my all time favorites! I hope you like it! “Rebecca” is another book I would highly recommend.

  5. We watched the movie together in St. Louis and I had thoroughly enjoyed it. Now u have have made me interested in reading the book !

  6. Sorry, The post is nice and interesting. In my earlier comment , i was talking about the movie Rebecca.

  7. Mom – Yes let me know if you want to read the book. And yes I guessed you were talking about Rebecca

  8. Pingback: Mar 13 Marathon | book lets go...

Leave a Reply

