Shades Of Words

Is it too late..

2 Comments

….to make up for the dismal blogging year that this was for me. For all my ambition at the beginning of 2015 ( scroll down the page to see), I have written exactly 2 posts. It’s not that I did not have things to share – I did. I read a lot of good books, saw many interesting movies and TV shows – but writing hasn’t come easily to me.

Blogging is hard. It requires discipline, will power and most importantly – ideas. To blog daily would need absolute determination and endless supply of content. To blog a few times a month you need some few hours of quite and peace every week.

I have managed to do neither. What I am now attempting to do is to close this year respectfully with a few intelligent entries. And of course, my brain is in a funk and I find myself looking at a blank screen.

Writing after a break of six  months is hard. Physically hard. I struggle with putting words together in a meaningful way. I have to rack my brain and look deep inside to find the right phrases.

I find myself asking questions – why should I do this? There are millions of blogs out there with better content and more readers than me. Why continue? Should I just shut this down?

Every time I ask myself – does it matter? My inner voice comes back with a resounding yes.

For me blogging has been extremely personal – a way to put my thoughts on paper and to make notes on passing time. A memorycatcher of sorts. The lesser I blog the more memories I lose. That’s why its important to keep trying.

Do you know why you want to blog?

Author: Vipula

Before talking about who we are, we’d like to tell you a bit about how and why Shades of Words came into being. It all started with the idea of “A place where we could share with likeminded people about things we enjoy. From books to music to movies to travel; Shades of Words was to be a place about the best of our experiences” We thought about why should anyone read us? The answer was that whatever we review would be a mix of our experience of the thing along with interesting and useful information about it. So in case you are reading us regularly or even checking us out once in a while then we have succeeded in our efforts someway somewhere. Who are we? Known as Kapil Sood and Vipula Gupta, we thought of Shades of Words on one fine Sunday afternoon. Tired of writing interesting RFP’s and project documentation; we decided to give this a shot. Yes! We work in Indian IT industry. Cupid struck us while were innocently slogging together on the highly intricate job of formatting and beautifying documents! And since then, we have been working together to establish Shades of Words as a place that we can claim as ours. (Because buying a house is still years away!) What else? Kapil also writes some blogs which you can read here and here.

2 thoughts on “Is it too late..

  1. Hello Sweet Friend ~ You know the first notice from your blog that I have gotten in a long time arrived today with your latest book review.
    This post notice never arrived in my email.
    Your words “a memory catcher” really resonate with me!
    I cannot tell you how many times I have searched my blog to go back and harvest a date of when something happened. I also think of my blog as a sort of visual journal since I find I cannot post without a photo or more (usually LOTS more!).
    Keeping up a blog does take so much time.
    There were moments last year when I wondered if I was going to be able to keep it up.
    Perhaps some of my readers sensed me losing my steam and reached out reminding me that I would really miss connecting with them in blogland.
    Happy to reconnect with you.
    I think of you and your busy life with less time for yourself and send best wishes your way.
    oxo

  2. Hi Patty! Thank you so much for stopping by. It’s so encouraging to hear from you! I not only miss blogging but also miss reading other blogs. I am planning to be better about it this year but have been careful about making resolutions. I am so glad you wrote to me ..I am going to be popping bye on your blog to say hello!

Leave a Reply

